Commissioned by People Dancing, photography by Sean Goldthorpe

11 Million Reasons - Asian Premiere

11 Million Reasons was conceptualised by People Dancing in 2014 to positively profile Deaf and disabled people in dance activity in the UK. The project developed from a core vision to de-segregate Deaf and disabled people, and to help facilitate a change in perceptions that can surround those who participate in dance. 

With funding from Unlimited Impact, People Dancing commissioned emerging photographer, Sean Goldthorpe to create 20 high quality images inspired by iconic dance moments in film. These stunning, powerful, emotive, and humorous images - many with a subtle but relevant message - in which Deaf and disabled people are centre stage, re-imagining iconic roles from well-known and loved films from a diversity of genres, act as a resource and inspiration to hearing impairment and disabled people who dance already, and those who would like to dance in the future.

The project took place in over 12 indoor and outdoor locations and 21 separate shoots, with over 160 people involved. The work took three months in total to complete. Its Asian premiere is presented by the British Council in Hong Kong at Popsy Modern Kitchen from 5 October to 20 November 2016. 

Asian Premiere Exhibition

5 October – 20 November 2016
Tuesday to Saturday 12.00 - 22.00 | Sunday 11.00 - 15.00
Monday closed

Free admission

Popsy Modern Kitchen
5/F The Wellington 198 Wellington Street Central Hong Kong

Click here to see the online exhibition and share your thoughts with us by completing the online questionnaire HERE

Get involved and share your thoughts

Visit our Facebook page and get involved. Share your thoughts about the exhibition, and vote for your favourite image by completing the online questionnaire HERE. You will stand a chance to win a coffee voucher worth $50.*

#11Millionreasons #BritishCouncilHK #PeopleDancing #PopsyKitchen #InclusiveDance 

*Please refer to the online questionnaire for terms and conditions.

11 Million Reasons Short Films 

In support of the exhibition, six short films titled Progression, Contemplation, Sensation, Inclusion, Motion, and Adaption have been produced, featuring Deaf and disabled people who love to dance as part of their enjoyment of everyday life is available. To see how some of the images being created, watch the behind-the-scenes and the short films below.


Is there one aesthetic for a dancer? What does a dancer look like? During the creation of the People Dancing photography exhibition, 11 Million Reasons which re-creates iconic dance moments from films with Deaf and disabled people centre stage, People Dancing asked some of the participants three questions and present their combined responses in the film 'Contemplation'.


In the film 'Adaption', dancers Laura Dajao and Mickael Marso Riviere discuss dance within the hip hop culture, and highlight how better awareness around access can ensure inclusivity. Dancing and adapting movement together, they create a beautifully inspiring and engaging duet. This film has been made in partnership with the MS Society.

Please click here to see the film.


People Dancing has created this short film in partnership with Youth Dance England to inspire inclusive groups and group leaders working with disabled young dancers to apply to be part of U.Dance 2015 in Plymouth. Youth Dance England and its partners aim to have 20% of its 2015 U.Dance applications from inclusive and disability focused dance groups. 

This film evaluates the experience of Oak field School Dance Group during their U.Dance 2014 experience and raises key questions from an inclusive group perspective. The young people and group leaders discuss their experience, including the hopes and fears, and provide a valuable insight to how any group of young people can successfully take part in U.Dance 2015.

Please click here to see the film.

Progression-Beths Story

People Dancing in partnership with Dance4, have created this short film which features young disabled dancer Beth Gardiner. Throughout the film we hear from Beth herself about her passion for dance, her progression and development from school through to being on the Centre for Advance Training programme, plus her ambitions for the future. This film supports the changing perceptions report commissioned by Dance4 and aims to highlight young disabled dancers’ progression routes. This beautifully made and compassionate film tells Beth’s story in her own words.

Please click here to see the film.


This short film commissioned by People Dancing focuses on the work of Isabel Jones, Artistic Director of Salamanda Tandem. The film shares excerpts of participatory practice and performance work, and her thoughts and approaches to working in a fully accessible way in dance.

Please click here to see the film.


'Motion' is commissioned by the Wheelchair Dance Sport Association and People Dancing. Brother and sister duo Linda and Stephen talk openly about the genre of Ballroom dancing, and in particular dancing with a disability. The positivity that dancing brings, along with their aspirations and plans for the future.

Please click here to see the film.

The Participants
The participants involved in 11 Million Reasons are predominately Deaf and disabled people for whom dance is a large part of their life, professionally, or vocationally. People Dancing worked with people of all ages, from local schools and youth groups, adults who dance in their local communities, through to some of the leading disabled choreographers and professional dancers in the UK.

The diversity of the people involved captured the spirit of 11 Million Reasons, and supports the aims in helping to change perceptions that can surround Deaf and disabled people who dance. Each one of the participants helped 11 Million Reasons achieve outstanding results.

Photographer – Sean Goldthorpe
Set Dresser – Nicky Moorhouse
Hair and Make up – Kristie Matthiae
Photographer Assistant – Oscar Henton

For full list of the people involved in 11 Million Reasons, please visit: www.communitydance.org.uk/11millionreasons 

About Popsy Modern Kitchen
Purveyors of an enchanting, visual dining experience, Popsy Modern Kitchen defines the space where art and contemporary comfort cuisine converge in a whimsical, relaxing and unforgettable sensory journey. At Popsy Modern Kitchen, guests unwind with a smile and experience harmony between the mind, the eyes and the palate, redefining the boundaries of what’s possible when art and food become one. Stunning flavours inspired by fresh produce and our Michelin-trained team of chefs await at Popsy Modern Kitchen, where everything from an intimate meal to grand occasions come to life through the power of artistic expression. Welcome to Popsy Modern Kitchen, where every day is a captivating reason to EAT MORE ART.

About People Dancing
People Dancing is the development organisation and membership body for community and participatory dance, working across the UK and internationally. Established in 1986, People Dancing has more than 2,300 members and reaches 4,500 dance professionals worldwide. People Dancing’s leadership of the community dance network provides a platform for exchange, critical debate and peer learning. This exposes its members to diverse dance practices and new contacts, expanding their professional horizons and strengthening their professional identity.

About Sean Goldthorpe
Sean Goldthorpe is a Leicester based emerging photographer. He is currently studying at De Montford University and has worked on a number of commissions including work for Curve Theatre, Leicester. Through Unlimited Impact funding, we engaged established professional photographer Drew Gardiner for a select period to mentor Sean to develop his skills in photography.

For more information on Sean’ work, please visit https://sean-goldthorpe.squarespace.com/performing-arts2/

Presented by: The British Council
In partnership with: Popsy Modern Kitchen and GREAT
Commissioned by: People Dancing with Sean Goldthorpe
Supported by: Unlimited Impact and Arts Council England

External links

11 Million Reasons亞洲首展

《11 Million Reasons》亞洲首展

《11 Million Reasons》由英國People Dancing在2014年策劃,積極展現了聽障及展能人士在英國各地參與舞蹈實踐的景象。項目初衷源於融合社會的願景,希望促進大衆改變對聽障和展能人士參與舞蹈的固有觀念。

20幅靈感源自多齣經典電影中的舞蹈場面的高質素攝影作品,由People Dancing在英國Unlimited Impact的資助下特別委約新晉攝影師西恩Ÿ戈‧德索普 (Sean Goldthorpe) 創作拍攝。這些扣人心弦又不失幽默的作品,巧妙地重塑多齣經典電影中的舞蹈場景,並帶出將聽障和展能人士呈現於舞台中心的重要訊息,為正在或有意投入舞蹈的聽障及展能人士帶來啓發和動力。

「11 Million Reasons」的創作為期3個月,足跡遍及逾12個室内外場景,拍攝次數高達21次,參與者超過160人。在香港的亞洲首展由英國文化協會主辦,2016年10月5日至11月20日期間於香港的Popsy Modern Kitchen與公衆會面。

11 Million Reasons 亞洲首展

2016年10月5日至11月20日
星期二至六  中午12時至晚上10時 | 星期日  上午11時至下午3時
(星期一休息)

免費參觀

Popsy Modern Kitchen

香港中環威靈頓街198號5樓  

按此觀看網上展覽,觀賞後可按此完成網上問卷分享你對展覽的想法和感受。

參與活動‧分享感受

瀏覽我們的Facebook專頁,參與我們網上的活動。希望你按此完成網上問卷,分享你對展覽的想法和感受,並選出你至愛的作品。完成問卷者更有機會獲得$50咖啡券一張*!

#11Millionreasons #BritishCouncilHK #PopsyKitchen #InclusiveDance

*有關活動的條款與細則,請參閱網上問卷。

《11 Million Reasons》 短片

是次展覽除了展示20幅攝影作品外,亦特別製作 6 段以《進程》、《沉思》、《感知》、《共融》、《律動》和《協調為題的短片以配合展出期間於網上播放。每段短片分別探討不同聽障和展能舞者他們對舞蹈的熱情和體會,以及推動無障礙舞蹈發展的見解,讓大眾對作品和展能藝術的議題有更深入的了解。如欲了解展覽創作花絮,請觀看以下短片。

《沉思》

試想想,有沒有一套屬於舞者的美學?舞者應該是怎樣的? 11 Million Reasons以聽障和展能人士重塑多齣經典電影的舞蹈情節。People Dancing向部分參加者提出了三條問題,並在《沉思》這齣短片中綜合總結他們的回應。

 

《協調》

在《協調》這齣短片中,舞者羅拉達祖和邁克爾馬素里維爾從嘻哈文化的角度出發,暢談舞蹈,重點討論如何藉著增進認知和積極參與達至共融。出色的動作協調,讓這對組合舞出美妙身影,使人深有啟發。本片由People Dancing 與MS Society 聯手製作。

 請按此觀看影片。

 

《共融》

本片由People Dancing與Youth Dance England (英格蘭少年舞蹈協會)合力攝製,旨在鼓勵共融組織及其領袖與年輕展能舞者合作,攜手參與在普利茅斯舉行的U Dance 2015舞蹈節。協會及其夥伴希望,共融及展能人士舞蹈團體能佔參賽組合的20%。

本片檢討了橡樹田學校舞蹈團 (Oak field School Dance Group)參與U Dance 2014舞蹈節的經驗,並從共融團體的角度提出多項重要議題。年輕舞者與舞蹈團領袖分享了他們的體會,細訴自己的願望和恐懼,並給其他有志參與U Dance 2015的年輕人提供了寶貴建議。

 請按此觀看影片。

《進程 – 貝絲的故事》

People Dancing與Dance4合力創作這齣短片,講述一位年輕展能舞者貝絲加德納的故事。短片由貝絲親自旁白,向觀眾細訴自己對舞蹈的熱情,由學校到參與中心進階培訓課程的經歷,以至對未來的雄心壯志。同時,本片亦與Dance4委約進行有關觀念改變的報告互相配合,突顯年輕展能舞者的成長之路。這齣製作優美的短片由貝絲輕輕道出她的故事,感人至深。

 請按此觀看影片。

《感知》

本片由People Dancing委約製作,重點介紹Salamanda Tandem舞蹈團藝術總監伊莎貝爾瓊斯的工作。短片中分享其參與練習和表演的片段,亦分享了她對推動無障礙舞蹈發展的見解和方法。

 請按此觀看影片。

《律動》

《律動》是由輪椅舞蹈體育協會(Wheelchair Dance Sport Association)和People Dancing攜手攝製。兄妹組合琳達和司提芬在短片中暢談交際舞,特別是與展能人士共舞的體會、舞蹈帶來的正能量,以及他們對未來的展望和計劃。

按此觀看影片。

項目參與者

《11 Million Reasons》的主要參與者是一群無論是專業或職業上熱愛舞蹈,並視之為生活一部份的聽障及展能人士。People Dancing與不同年齡社群合作,由當地的學校、青少年社群、不同社區舞蹈人士,以至一些出色的展能編舞家和一眾於英國專業的舞者。

來自不同背景的參與者正與《11 Million Reasons》背後策劃理念不謀而合,同時亦體驗改變社會對聽障及展能人士參與舞蹈看法的目標。感謝每一位參與者為《11 Million Reasons》的支持,令展覽得以成功進行。特別鳴謝以下展覽製作團隊:

攝影師 – Sean Goldthorpe
服裝 – Nicky Moorhouse
製作人 - Louise Wildish
髮型和化妝 – Kristie Matthiae
攝影師助理 – Oscar Henton

其他展覽參與者的資料,請瀏覽: www.communitydance.org.uk/11millionreasons

關於西恩Ÿ戈‧德索普 (Sean Goldthorpe)

西恩Ÿ戈德索普 (Sean Goldthorpe) 是駐於萊斯特郡的新晉攝影師,現就讀於德蒙福特大學,曾獲不同機構委約,包括萊斯特郡 Curve Theatre。項目獲Unlimited Impact資助,People Dancing亦特別邀請著名資深專業攝影師德魯Ÿ加德納 (Drew Gardiner) 擔任西恩的短期導師,藉以提升其攝影技術。

有關西恩Ÿ戈‧德索普的其他作品,請瀏覽sean-goldthorpe.squarespace.com/performing-arts2/

關於Popsy Modern Kitchen 

Popsy Modern Kitchen  結合藝術和現代歐陸菜,帶來融入視覺享受的用餐體驗,為食客打造一趟超乎想像、輕鬆和難忘的感官旅程。在這裏,你會感受到思想、藝術、食物味道之間的融洽性,重新界定藝術與食物之間的緊密聯繫,體現餐廳的「嚐藝」(Eat More Art)精神。由米芝蓮廚師團隊率領,以優質食材炮製的藝術美饌,在 Popsy Modern Kitchen迎接大家。由私人晚餐至盛大聚會,餐廳都能透過藝術形式將美食呈現於大家眼前。歡迎來臨  Popsy Modern Kitchen,每天都是品味藝術的好日子。

關於People Dancing

People Dancing是於1986年創立的社區舞蹈發展組織,服務遍及全英國及世界各地,現時會員超過2,300人,並與全球多達4,500 位專業舞蹈人員有所聯繫。People Dancing以其卓越的社區舞蹈網絡,提供交流、思辯與互相學習的平台,協助會員研創新的舞蹈技藝,拓展人脈,擴闊眼界,提升水平,促進專業認同。

主辦機構: 英國文化協會
合作顆伴: Popsy Modern Kitchen和GREAT
委約策劃: People Dancing 與西恩Ÿ戈‧德索普 (Sean Goldthorpe)
支持機構: 英國Unlimited Impact和英國Art Council