First Visit 11 – 20 October 2016

Last year, British Council successfully ran a pilot year of the World Voice programme in Hong Kong with the support of the Swire Trust. We recruited eight local primary schools from Tuen Mun, Tin Shui Wai and Sham Shui Po, and 15 classes from Primary 1 – Primary 3 with 360+ students and 20+ principals and teachers were involved.  We are grateful to receive renewed support from the Swire Trust again this year and we are running the World Voice Hong Kong Second Year programme from autumn 2016.

This year, we have recruited nine local primary schools from Tuen Mun, Tin Shui Wai, Tseung Kwan O, Pok Fu Lam, and Shek Kip Mei, and there are 33 classes from Primary 1 – Primary 3 with 755+ students and 30+ principal and teachers involved in this one-year programme.  In order to build up local support and resources for our Hong Kong mainstream primary school teachers, we are running a ‘Train the Trainer’ programme as well. We recruited five candidates to participate in this programme. We are delighted to have Richard Frostick, World Voice Artistic Director and Trainer for World Voice Hong Kong, to conduct the training for us again.

The two-week schedule was very packed but fruitful with lots of excitement. The programme started with a full-day training workshop for our Master Trainers. On 12 and 13 October, we had two full-day training workshops for both Master Trainers and teachers. It was a good opportunity for them to understand the programme and it helped everyone realise the importance of music for children’s cognitive development, learn how to use singing as a pedagogical tool more often in classes, and get to know each other and work together. Beside the training workshops, we scheduled school visits to those nine local primary schools over five days. We travelled around Hong Kong and visited 18 classes in total. We had productive meetings with each class teacher before and after the class visits. Because these were the first school visits, Frostick led the class lessons and applied the pedagogic skills for teachers to observe while teaching, and the class teachers reported that they picked up the skills easily.

Richard Frostick will return to Hong Kong in mid-February and mid-May next year to continue the training. Meanwhile, the World Voice team in Hong Kong will continue to give support to the teachers, as well as encourage them to use singing more often in class by embedding songs and music in the curriculum. We hope that this programme can help students with special educational needs feel socially included with their neurotypical classmates, and more adequately equip teachers to work with students in integrated classrooms.


A special thank you to below primary schools, principals, teachers and students:

Hing Tak School
PLK WWCWD Fung Lee Pui Yiu Primary School
SKH Chi Fu Chi Nam Primary School
Taoist Ching Chung Primary School
Taoist Ching Chung Primary School (Wu King Estate)
The ELCHK faith Lutheran School
Yan Chai Hospital Chan Lu Seng Primary School
Yan Chai Hospital Ho Sik Nam Primary School
Y.L. Long Ping Estate Wai Chow School

World Voice Hong Kong 2nd year: teachers and trainers
World Voice Hong Kong 2nd year: teachers and trainers
WV1617 trainers
WV1617 teacher training
WV1617 teacher training
WV1617 school visit

第二屆香港「童心同唱」計劃

香港「童心同唱」計劃欣然邁向第二年 :首輪活動報告

2016年10月11至20日首輪外展活動

英國文化協會去年蒙太古集團慈善信託基金鼎力支持,成功把「童心同唱」計劃引入香港,以屯門、天水圍及深水埗的8家小學為試點,接觸了15班小一至小三的360多名同學及20多位校長/老師。使我們萬分欣喜的是,這項意義深長的計劃繼續獲太古集團贊助,第二年的活動亦已於 2016年秋季正式展開。

在新一個年度裡,加入計劃的本地小學增至9家,遍及屯門、天水圍、將軍澳、薄扶林及石硤尾5區;參與的小一至小三班數目亦上升至33班,涉及逾755名同學及30多位校長和老師。為加強對本地主流小學教師的支援和提供更多教學資源,我們還同時舉辦「教師訓練員培訓計劃」,並順利招募了5位成員,接受「童心同唱」計劃藝術總監兼香港「童心同唱」計劃督導Richard Frostick先生的培訓。

為期兩周的首輪活動雖然編排緊密,但內容充實,驚喜處處。在10月12及13日,我們舉辦了兩場專為教師訓練員及老師而設的全日工作坊,深入講解「童心同唱」計劃的理念和內容,並闡述音樂對兒童認知發展的重要性,以及在班上多透過唱歌授課的方法。參加者除了學習有關技巧,還可彼此認識和合作。另外,在短短5天裡,團隊走訪了全數9家參與第二年計劃的小學,視察了 18 班學生的上課情況,並在觀課前後逐一與有關班別的老師開會,務求增進計劃成效。由於這是次年計劃的首輪學校探訪,Frostick 因此親自示範及應用有關的授課方法,方便原任老師從旁觀察。各位老師其後均異口同聲表示,這讓他們能輕鬆掌握箇中技巧。

Richard 雖於明年二月中及五月中才再到香港繼續培訓工作,但香港的「童心同唱」團隊會持續為各位老師提供支援,鼓勵他們把歌曲和音樂納入課程,善用歌唱輔助教學。我們期望可藉著這個計劃,使有特殊學習需要的小朋友與其他同學達致社交共融,並讓老師好好裝備自己,掌握融合教育的精要與技巧。

 

特別鳴謝以下各小學校長、老師和同學的參與:
興德學校
保良局西區婦女福利會馮李佩瑤小學
聖公會置富始南小學
道教青松小學 (山景邨)
道教青松小學(湖景邨)
基督教香港信義會深信學校
仁濟醫院陳耀星小學
仁濟醫院何式南小學
元朗朗屏邨惠州學校