Hong Kong Book Fair 2017 Sara Wheeler
Friday 21 July 2017 - 19.00

Access All Areas: In conversation with Sara Wheeler

Co-organised by the British Council and Hong Kong Trade Development Council

Date: Friday, 21 July 2017
Time: 19.00 - 20.30
Venue: Room S222-223, Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, 1 Expo Drive, Wanchai
Speaker: Sara Wheeler (United Kingdom)
Moderator: Kate Whitehead 
Conducted in English
Free admission. Register HERE

What’s the point of travel writing? Sara Wheeler talks about the genre – including her heroes and villains – and makes a case for the value of travel writing in the literary canon. Critics like to say that travel writing is dead, now that we’ve been everywhere – and after all we’re not far short of package tours to the moon. But Wheeler disagrees, and will tell you why. She ends her talk with an illustrated jog through an extended trip over many months she made to the Arctic – some years after she had written her bestselling book about the other Pole, Terra Incognita: Travels in Antarctica.  Wheeler looks forward to taking your questions!  

For other related events, please click here for details.

About the writer and moderator

About Sara Wheeler

Sara Wheeler is a prize-winning non-fiction writer. Her books include the international bestseller Terra Incognita, which tells the story of a seven-month journey in Antarctica. The Daily Telegraph reviewer wrote of it, ‘I do not think there will ever be a better book written about the Antarctic.’ Other books include The Magnetic North: Notes from the Arctic Circle (winner of the Banff Adventure Travel Prize), and Access All Areas: Selected Writings, 1990-2010. Sara is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, a Contributing Editor of The Literary Review and a Trustee of The London Library. She contributes to a wide range of publications in the UK and US and broadcasts regularly on BBC Radio.

About Kate Whitehead

Kate Whitehead is a Hong Kong-based journalist, and holds a BA in Literature (Warwick University) and an MA in Literature (Sussex University). The author of two Hong Kong crime books - After Suzie and Hong Kong Murders - she was on staff at the South China Morning Post and then editor of Cathay Pacific's inflight magazine Discovery. She is now a freelance journalist, and over the last three years has reported from North Korea, Myanmar, China, Peru, Ecuador and Antarctica as well as covering local stories.

縱橫四海:與 Sara Wheeler 對談

2017 年 7 月 21 日 (星期五)
PM07:00PM09:00

縱橫四海:與 SARA WHEELER對談


日期: 2017年7月21日 (星期五)
時間: 19.00-20.30
地點: 香港灣仔博覽道1號會議展覽中心S222-223室
講者: Sara Wheeler (英國)
主持: Kate Whitehead 
英語主講
免費參與,請按此預先登記

旅遊文學在現今社會的價值何在? 有書評人說,在人類足跡踏遍五湖四海,甚至不乏登月旅行團的今天,旅遊文學已死!不過,身為旅遊文學作家的Sara Wheeler 則持有不同的見解。Sara不但為旅遊文學「平反」,還會細細分析這種文體,暢談其筆下主角與反派人物,剖析遊記在文學世界的獨特地位。Sara還將與讀者分享在出版其暢銷著作《Terra Incognita: Travels in Antarctica》後再踏上為期數月北極之旅的經歷,並回答讀者提問。

按此瀏覽其他相關活動。

關於作家和主持

有關Sara Wheeler
Sara Wheeler是一位獲獎無數的非小說類作家。她的著作包括國際暢銷書─《Terra Incognita》,敍述了她為期七個月的南極之旅。英國《每日電訊報》的評論員寫道:「我不認為世上還有一本關於南極的書比這本更精彩。」她的其他著作包括《The Magnetic North: Notes from the Arctic Circle》(班夫探險旅行文學獎的得獎作品)及《Access All Areas: Selected Writings, 1990-2010》。Sara是皇家文學學會會士、《The Literary Review》的特約編輯及倫敦圖書館的董事會成員。她為英國和美國的不同刊物供稿,並定期在英國廣播公司電台廣播。

有關 Kate Whitehead
Kate Whitehead是位以駐港的新聞工作者,持有英國華威大學文學學士及薩塞克斯大學文學碩士學位,著有兩本以香港為背景的犯罪小說 – After Suzie 及Hong Kong Murders 。她曾任職《南華早報》及國泰航空機艙刊物Discovery編輯,現為特約記者,過去三年曾遠赴北韓、緬甸、中國、秘魯、厄瓜多爾及南極洲採訪,同時亦不時報導本地新聞。